Home > About ACMT > ACMT Committees


If you are an ACMT member and are interested in joining a committee, just email  for more information. More information regarding specific ACMT committees can be found here.

Awards Committee

Chair: Leslie Dye, MD, FACMT – 

This committee organizes and reviews the nominations for specific ACMT Awards and suggests a recipient for each ACMT award. The Committee Chair chooses members of the Awards Committee and its subcommittees. If you are interested in participating in this committee, please email info@acmt.net for future consideration.

Education Committee

Chair: Louise Kao, MD, FACMT - 

This committee determines the educational needs of the membership (as identified through needs assessments and feasibility studies) and identify or develop resources and delivery modalities to address those needs. They also assess current educational offerings and partnerships and monitor the ongoing effectiveness of all educational activities.

Enduring Education Committee

Chair: Paul Wax, MD, FACMT –   

This committee is dedicated to collect and catalog the educational efforts of the college while promoting toxicology education through novel means that exist beyond location-specific, lecture-based formats. The educational materials are designed for multiple different levels of learners and it is a further goal of the committee to widen the audience of these efforts beyond members of the toxicology community.

Fellowship Directors Committee

Chair: Steve Aks, DO, FACMT – 

This committee shall define and initiate initiatives for the Medical Toxicology Program Directors as a group. This committee is only open to current medical toxicology fellowship directors.  

International Committee

Co-Chairs: Rais Vohra, MD –  and Ziad Kazzi, MD - 

This committee serves to develop and maintain ACMT’s strategy to increase our emphasis on international activities and is responsible for Connecting clinicians, educators, and researchers worldwide about issues related to poisoning, envenomation and overdose.

Membership Committee

Chair: Steve Munday, MD, FACMT – 

This committee determines the eligibility of applicants for active membership and fellowship, represents and monitors the needs of the membership, recommends policies, procedures, and initiatives to assure a growing and vital membership organization and organizes the annual FACMT Reception.  

Nominations Committee

Chair: Lewis Nelson, MD, FACMT – 

This committee is responsible for securing candidates for the ballot and to present a slate of qualified, acceptable candidates to the ACMT Board of Directors for approval and to the ACMT membership for a vote.

Position Statements and Guidelines

Chair: Andrew Stolbach, MD, FACMT - 

This committee is responsible for developing position statements, guidelines, and commentary for ACMT. The committee reviews existing position statements and recommends revising, reaffirming, or retiring them. The committee may explore, participate, and draft position statements, guidelines and commentary with other organizations when appropriate.

Practice Committee

Chair: Danyal Ibrahim, MD, FACMT – 

This committee is responsible for providing exposure to ACMT on a national basis through the development of Position Statements and organizes the Fellows-in-Training Roundtable and Practice Symposium held annually at the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology.

Public Affairs Committee

Chair: Michelle Ruha, MD, FACMT –  

This committee is responsible for enhancing public awareness of ACMT and recognition of medical toxicology as a specialty through the use of social media and news media outlets.

Publications Committee

Chair: Lewis Nelson, MD, FACMT – 

This committee is responsible for overseeing all of the internal and external publications of the College, including the ACMT Newsletter and the Journal of Medical Toxicology

Research Committee

Chair: William Russ Kerns, MD, FACMT –

This committee is responsible for reviewing applications and organizing the selection process for various research grants.  It also organizes the research poster session and assists and provides guidance with the Fellows-in-Training Research Forum at our annual ACMT Spring Conference.

Telemedicine Sub-Committee

Chair: Timothy Wiegand, MD, FACMT - 

The ACMT Practice Committee created this sub-committee in order to explore the application of telemedicine in the practice of medical toxicology.

Website Committee

Chair: Nathanael McKeown, DO - 

This committee provides guidance and establishes standards for the ACMT web pages to ensure high quality and consistency of content, organization, and presentation of information.